Crop problem – can’t change cropped area shape.

MI
Posted By
magic_is_afoot
Aug 25, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
When I try to crop images, the aspect ratio of the cropped area seems to be preset and I don’t see how to change it. I am scanning old photos and want to remove the extra space I have scanned around the edges. "Straighten and Crop Image" is a good first step, but I still often have to make small adjustments because some old photos are not exactly rectangular.
I expect there must be some simple way to turn this off but I am just a beginner and cannot see it.

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

JD
Juergen_D
Aug 25, 2004
Magic,
Are you are using the rectangular marquee tool? Look above your workspace for the box next to Style. Change the setting to ‘Normal’.

Juergen
MI
magic_is_afoot
Aug 25, 2004
Thanks Juergen. I was using the Crop Tool. But after reading your reply, I tried the Rectangular Marquee Tool to select the area; then the Crop command from the Image tool bar and that worked as I wanted. I guess I still have some research to do to figure out what the Crop Tool does. Perhaps it is just for when you know beforehand the height and width of the image result you want?
BG
Byron Gale
Aug 25, 2004

M.I.A.,

If you have values entered in the Width and Height boxes on the Crop tools Options bar, then Elements will only draw the crop boundaries in that proportion. Clear the boxes to free-hand the crop.

HTH,

Byron
MI
magic_is_afoot
Aug 25, 2004
Thanks Byron. I had wondered about that and tried clearing the Width and Height boxes, but the Crop Tool still has a fixed aspect ratio. I tried Shift, Alt, and Ctrl as suggested in the tip bar for other options, but none of these let the aspect ratio vary.
JD
Juergen_D
Aug 25, 2004
Perhaps it is just for when you know beforehand the height and width of
the image result you want?

Magic,