Newbie: Guidance sought on when to choose 24-bit color vs. 48-bit color.

DC
Posted By
D_C_G
Aug 20, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
What image characteristics of a photograph, slide, or negative determine when it should be scanned at 16 bits per color channel (48-bit color) instead of 8 bits per color channel (24 bit color)?

I have three image-editing programs that I’ve been using for several years: Adobe PhotoShop Elements 2.0, Adobe PhotoShop Home Edition 4.0, and Jasc Paint Shop Pro 7. After some tests, it appears that all three only support 8 bits per color channel (24-bit color). I’m trying to decide if I need to purchase another image editor to get 16 bits (48-bit color).

My present goal is to archive old family photographs (1890-present), slides (1950-1980), and negatives (1910-present). Images from about 1970 to present were taken by amateurs. Prior to 1970, some photographs and negatives (not slides) were taken by professionals.

I’m using an Epson Perfection 4870 flatbed scanner for the photographs and larger (4"x 5") negatives. I hope to use a Nikon Coolscan V for the slides and smaller negatives.

I’d appreciate any guidance you can provide as to how much color resolution I’m likely to need for this archiving.

Thanks for the help,
DCG

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

MM
Mac_McDougald
Aug 20, 2004
Endless debate re just how effective 48 bit scanning really is. Histograms prove that many editing functions are much less "destructive" done in 48 bit. Eyeballs prove that the difference is negligible to non- existant on most images.

One things for sure, film may benefit from high bit editing, but it’s a waste on flat copy, the information just isn’t there to waste the file size on.