IS
Posted By
Ideen_S
Jan 27, 2009
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Greetings. I am new to the Mac world, thus please excuse this simple question.

I have downloaded the dmg file for the Adobe Design Suite Premium CS4. How do I go about installing? If possible provide a 1-2-3 step (ending with deleting the dmg file).

I also noted that the Adobe download sign included a few other dmg files,
e.g., Deployment Toolkit, Content Extra and Resources, among others. Are
these essential?

Many thanks in advance.

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

NK
Neil_Keller
Jan 27, 2009
Ideen,

Welcome to the Mac! I’m sure that you will soon be comfortably up and going with it. It is very easy to click and install. But, since I haven’t purchased/downloaded as you have, I’ll tackle the last part of your post: Yes. Download the other components and take a look at them. You may not need or want everything now. But at some point you may. Besides, you already paid for them!

Neil
B
Buko
Jan 27, 2009
mount the .dmg file by clicking on it.

when it is mounted it will appear just like you have a new drive mounted.

click the drive to open it

click the install icon.

follow the onscreen directions.
R
Ram
Jan 27, 2009
And why on Earth would you want to delete the dmg image? Save it! Discarding it would be like throwing your original install media in the trash.

Burn it to DVD.
B
Buko
Jan 28, 2009
And why on Earth would you want to delete the dmg image?

Missed that. Yeah hang on to that, just cost you close to $1000. Burn 2 DVDs Even 3. Lose it and you will end up paying it all over if you must reinstall and you don’t have that .dmg file.
NK
Neil_Keller
Jan 28, 2009