Posted By
mikael_runsten
Jun 17, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi!
I have a picture that i like to fade out, from one side to the other in a linear way. (ie 100% visible at left, and 0% at right side) I am a newbie, so please explain the easiest way to do this. Thanks,
Micke

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

JF
Jodi_Frye
Jun 17, 2004
The easiest way….assuming you want it to fade to white….in the tool palette make sure foreground color is set to white ( or whatever color you want it it fade to ) and go to toolbar>layer>new fill layer>gradient fill, just click OK at the settings>another window will open with options>set angle to ‘0’. You can move the percentage slider and/or click on gradient color bar to open up another window that will allow to change/move the opacity sliders.

OR, use the gradient tool….above your image create a new layer>click on gradient tool>options above screen will show different angle options for this tool>choose left to right(linear). Click on color gradient option box next to that and in upper right is a little arrow>click on that>click ‘reset gradients’, this will bring up a gradient pallete with just your foreground color to transparent…should be the first or second one on the list. With this tool selected drag from one edge to the other.

There are other ways but I’m running out of time right now….. If ya need help we are here..
MR
mikael_runsten
Jun 17, 2004
Thanks, but actually I want another picture to be visable under, where the top picture "fade out" (beeing more transparent).

So I don’t want it to fade to a color, but to a different picture.

Thank you for your help,
Micke
BG
Byron Gale
Jun 17, 2004
Micke,