KL
Posted By
Kevin_Lennox
Jan 22, 2007
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am an amateur photographer looking for some advice whether to buy Elements or CS2. I like the the extensive functionality of CS2 but is it really worth the extra money over the cost of Elements? If I buy Elements, can I upgrade to CS2 later?

Some general advice would be appreciated.

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

CF
Cecil_Fuselier
Jan 22, 2007
I started with Elements 4, then upgraded to Elements 5 and then went to CS2 and could not be happier with the power of CS2 that I find myself using, and based on what I have read on this forum, there is a lot I have to learn. But I find using CS2 is much more powerful for me based on my needs. You can upgrade from 5 I think for a lot less than full version CS2 without upgrade.
Cecil
EH
Ed_Hannigan
Jan 22, 2007
You have to buy the full version on Photoshop.
JW
John_Waller
Jan 22, 2007
I like the the extensive functionality of CS2 but is it really worth the extra money over the cost of Elements?

See if this article helps
http://graphicssoft.about.com/cs/photoshop/f/elementscompare .htm

The Adobe store indicates that an upgrade to Photoshop CS2 is available from Elements 4 or earlier. Not sure about Elements 5. Call Adobe to check. http://store.adobe.com/store/products/master.jhtml?id=catPho toshopUpgrade

Note: this Elements to CS2 upgrade path may end with CS2. i.e. don’t rely on it being available for CS3 due 2Q 2007.

Regards

John Waller
EH
Ed_Hannigan
Jan 22, 2007
Oops! Sorry. As far as I know there was never an upgrade path from Elements to Photoshop previously. Well worth it.
O
Ozark58
Jan 22, 2007
wrote in message
You have to buy the full version on Photoshop.

Yes, Ed is correct. You’ll have to buy the full version.