How much RAM can PS CS4e use in Mac OS 10.5.x?

W
Posted By
Wileec
Oct 21, 2008
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’ve tried to track this down from a number of places, but can’t get an answer. I’m assuming the same as CS3e, which is a little over 3 GB.

I’m getting ready to build a new MacPro and I need to decide how much RAM to add initially. I’m a Mac tech, so pretty good at building kick-but systems, but I don’t have CS4e yet, so can’t figure this one out for myself. I usually max out my systems, but I don’t think I can really utilize a full 32 GB of RAM with CS4 suite, but perhaps CS5. No sense in getting more RAM at this point in time, when I could use those dollars for good glass to take more pictures with! 😉

And FYI, real PS performance comes from using 10K rpm drives for startup/apps and a second one for Scratch.

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

GB
g_ballard
Oct 21, 2008
I would start at minimum 8gb ram and topped my own Mac Pros at 14 and 10gb

< http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=32 0005&sliceId=1>
SW
Scott_Weichert
Oct 21, 2008
I noticed major system speed increases when I passed 8GB and again when I passed 13GB. Even though PS may only be able to access 3GB, the additional RAM does not go to waste.
W
Wileec
Oct 21, 2008
Respectfully – I asked a very specific question and neither reply answered it. I’m not looking for general counsel, which is why I didn’t go into more detail on what I am considering.

I meet almost no one whose system was really built to handle what they ask of it. I know they exist, but few invest the time to understand their software and it’s real needs and then invest in the hardware to make sure they have the resources to do well – what they ask of their system.

So – not to be rude – but I asked one simple question and I am only looking for an answer to that question.