AS
Posted By
Aaron_Sahlin
Apr 17, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi- I am new to digital photography and using elements 2.0. When I modify my picture in elements and select save, it gives me a choice on the quality setting to save it as… 5, 6, 7,…., 10. Can some explain to me what they approximately map to in size of picture it can print clearly. For example, if I save the picture with quality 5.. does that only then print up to a 4×6 clearly?

Any help will be much appreciated. thanks.

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

BH
Beth_Haney
Apr 17, 2004
Aaron, there are a couple of different things that are coming to mind as I read your post, and you’ve already mentioned you’re new at this, so I’ll go into my (in)famous lecture. 🙂

The first thing I deduce from your question about the quality setting is that you are working on and resaving your images in JPEG format. JPEG has a lot of wonderful uses, but we here on the forum strongly encourage people to convert to a non-lossy format such as TIFF or PSD for editing purposes. JPEG is "lossy", which means that each time you open one, edit it, and save the changes, some of the image data is thrown away through file compression, regardless of the quality setting you choose. This isn’t noticeable at first, but if it’s repeated too many times, you will see a loss of quality when you print from the file again.