LM
Posted By
linda_morvant
Apr 7, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
i’m new at using photoshop elements 2. i am trying to remove scratches from black and white photo. i use windows xp. the scratches are on the original photo. i’ve tried to remove scratches in Filter>Noise>Dust & Scratches. I am able to remove the scratches, only after the image is so distorted you can’t make out the faces anymore. I’ve also tried Enhance>Brightness/contrast>Levels & nothing happens here. the scratch is located from one end of the photo to the next in a horizontal pattern going across 3 different images in the photo. please help? thank you

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

TF
Terri_Foster
Apr 7, 2004
Try this technique I got out of S. Kelby’s book:

1. Duplicate photo
2. Apply the Dust and Scratches filter to the duplicate layer. Apply so that all the scratches are gone…don’t worry about blurriness.
3. Create a new blank layer and place this new layer between the original and duplicate with filter applied.
4. Activate top layer with the filter applied and hit control G (if on a PC…I think maybe command or option G on a Mac). This will group your layers so instead of blurry the top layer now looks scratched again.
5. Set your tool box color chips to black and white…make sure black is foreground chip color. Select a brush (a small brush works best so you will have less blur) and go to the options bar and put the brush in lighten mode. (Note very important that your in lighten mode or it won’t work.)
6. Now activate your blank layer and paint with black in lighten mode over your scratches on this blank layer. This should work significantly better than just using the dust and scratches filter. Hope this helps. Kelby has lots of pretty nifty tricks in his books.

Terri
TF
Terri_Foster
Apr 7, 2004