FC
Posted By
francis_colaguori
Nov 21, 2006
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
How should I process a digital image, from a 6.1 mp camera, to be used for Giclee printing…i.e size and type of file.I am an artist and copy my paintings, and need top quality files for the printing process. Frank

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

AC
Art Campbell
Nov 21, 2006
If I were you, unless the paintings are fairly small, like 8×10 inches or so, I wouldn’t rely on the digiphoto files you’re talking about because I think they’re unlikely to be color accurate and because if you enlarge them to large end sizes the detail may not be there.

For the best repro quality, you want to have the paintings scanned and work from the scanner files.

Either method, the workflow is likely to be the same — clean up the files (spot them, etc.) adjust the color for accurate reproduction, resize, and sharpen if necessary.

If you haven’t already, you would want to fully calibrate your equipment, from camera/scanner to monitor to whatever ICC profile your proof and final printers are going to use.

Art
DP
Daryl_Pritchard
Nov 21, 2006
Hi Frank,