Posted By
Sethelic
Oct 25, 2006
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi,

i’m new to widescreen monitors so i have some questions about it:.

1. Does images on widescreen monitors only appear ‘stretched’ when u set it to fill screen?

2. At normal times, the images are mapped by pixel basis, so a widescreen monitor will not affect the correct ratio of photos?

3. im thinking whether to buy the WACOM intuos3 6×11(wide) or 9×12. If 9×12 isn’t made for widescreens and i use it with a wide screen monitor.

3.1 what are the consequences?

3.2 will it cause my strokes to appear more horizontal as VS a normal monitor? since the tablet work area would be mapped to the monitor’s resolution

3.3 can i restrict the tablet’s work area to say only a portion of the screen(i will navigate the remaining portion with my mouse)

4. Are there any advantages of using a 6 x 11 (wide) for wide screen monitors as compared to 9 x 12? im mostly doing character illustations, digital painting & photo-editing.

Thanks

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

B
Bernie
Oct 25, 2006
The pixels are still square on a widescreen monitor

Edit: assuming you set them to the correct resolution of course…
L
LenHewitt
Oct 25, 2006
The Wacom (whichever model) maps its active surface area to the screen you are using by default. You do not need a wide Wacom to use a widescreen monitor. Your strokes will appear absolutely the same regardless.

what are the cons of buying a widescreen monitor(apart from price)?<<

You may have to change your video card to one that supports the native resolution of the monitor on a DVI output.
R
RobertHJones
Oct 25, 2006
I use a Wacom tablet with a wide screen monitor so I can answer some of your questions.

1. Does images on widescreen monitors only appear ‘stretched’ when u set it to fill screen?