SD
Posted By
Sophie_Dixon
Feb 16, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi! I’m new to computing, and have just begun to use Photoshop Elements, which came ready installed on my laptop. I’m using Windows XP, and have come across two main problems. I am not sure what triggers it, but I frequently get the error message ‘could not load alert resource!’, which stops me from continuing to use photoshop, doesn’t disappear when I click ‘okay’, and won’t even let me close down the programme (the only way to get rid of it is to restart my computer).

The other problem occurs when I click help/Adobe online. I then get the following message ‘the Adobe online software could not be found. This software can be downloaded from Adobe over the world wide Web or you can reinstall it from your installation media. Would you like to download now?’ I clicked ‘download’ and got the message ‘an unknown Adobe online error has occurred. Please try again or reinstall the software from your installation media.’

Similarly, when I click file/online services,help/support,help/tutorials or help/register I get an error message saying ‘a network error occurred while trying to contact the Adobe online services, try again later’.
I read in the FAQ (Mark Hiers – 11:33am Dec 18, 2001 Pacific) that

If you are logged into the computer as a user, without administrator privleges, you need to configure Elements to run in W98 compatibility mode.

I’m not sure whether I am a user without administrator privileges, so I followed these instructions, and received the error message ‘could not load alert resource!’ AGAIN!!

Can anybody help? I would be very grateful as I’m sure there’s fun to be had if I can only get things working! Sophie

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

B
BobHill
Feb 16, 2004
Sophie,