MR
Posted By
Michael Redbourn
Sep 23, 2006
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Sorry if this message arrives twice. Posted it around 3 hours ago and it still hasn’t appeared.

Hi,

Version 8

I was working my way through a tutorial and got as far as ..

http://www.lunacore.com/photoshop/tutorials/tut024_4.htm

but when I go to select/modify the only thing I have that isn’t grayed out is ‘borders’ and I want ‘contract’.

Maybe I need to start again or maybe I just need to change a setting ?

I’m a newbie so any help you give probably needs to be dumbed down 🙂

thanks,

Michael

Posted via a free Usenet account from http://www.teranews.com

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

MH
Mike Hyndman
Sep 23, 2006
"Michael Redbourn" wrote in message
Sorry if this message arrives twice. Posted it around 3 hours ago and it still hasn’t appeared.

Hi,

Version 8

but when I go to select/modify the only thing I have that isn’t grayed out is ‘borders’ and I want ‘contract’.

thanks,
Michael, Michael, Michael, 😉

Taking a wild stab in the dark, I would say that you have the wrong layer active when you perform your ctrl+click. What you see is what you get when the selection (Ctrl+click on the thumbnail) selects the whole, filled layer. The tutorial asks you to make the "basic shape" layer active before ctrl+clicking. This layer consists of a small rectangle set in the middle of an empty layer, ctrl clicking on this layer thumbnail would load the selection of the central rectangle. If you then went to Select>Modify, you will all three options are available.

HTH
Mike H
MH
Mike Hyndman
Sep 23, 2006
"Mike Hyndman" wrote in message

Hi,

Version 8

thanks,
Michael,