Posted By
Nancy_DuBro
Sep 4, 2006
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Using Windows XP, Photoshop.cs
I use Photoshop to edit scans that I make on my Dell AIO printer. I need to save the scans in jpeg format to post pics on my website. I follow the Photoshop instructions "To save a file in JPEG format: Choose File > Save As and choose JPEG from the Format menu. In the JPEG Options dialog box, select the options you want, and click OK." It looks like they are save in jpeg.
However, when I look in the folder where the pics are saved, they show format type "JascPaintShopPhotoAlbumImage" instead of the jpeg format I chose to save them in.

Jasc Paint Shop is something that came on my new computer. I’ve tried removing the program, but even that doesn’t work. I can’t get rid of Jasc and I can’t save in ordinary jpeg format from Adobe Photoshop.

Does anyone know how to fix my problem. Warning: I am a novice so please use simple English in your reply. Thanks.
Nancy DuBro

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

AC
Art Campbell
Sep 4, 2006
Right click on one of the file icons.
Select Properties.
On the General tab, where it says Opens With, click Change. Highlight Photoshop.
Under the list of programs, activate the checkbox for Always Use … Click OK.

Art
C
chrisjbirchall
Sep 4, 2006
First try deleting your preferences file (details in the FAQs) as a corrupt Prefs can often cause strange things to happen.

The other thing you could do, of course, is use "Save For Web" instead of "Save As". This applet is designed to optimize jpegs for web use.

Hope this helps.

Chris.
Y
YrbkMgr
Sep 4, 2006
Chris,

FYI, as Art points out, it’s his associations – they’re JPG, it’s just that they are set to automatically open with Paint Shop Pro.
S
stevent
Sep 4, 2006