R
Posted By
rkentw
Dec 29, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Is there any way to print a "GOOD" 13" X 19" photo from my new Canon I 9100. Camera is a Nikon coolpix 990 3.3 mpixl. Just bought Photoshop Elements 2.0 w/photoshop album 2.0 Is there some plug in or setting that will enlarge file size to get better resolution?

Help, Kent

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

SK
Shan_Ko
Dec 29, 2003
Kent,

I have the Canon S9000 (the older bro of your printer). The largest prints I made from an image file of around 3Mpx was 11"x14", upsampled in steps of 10 percent. The prints were beginning to loosen up and were best viewed from about two feet away. The original images were taken intended for 8×10’s in mind. Read about Genuine Fractals software that is supposed to allow large enlargements out of smaller files, but I have no personal experience. FWIW, you may care to try the small incremental upsampling and make trial prints. You can save some paper by printing test strips of various stages as work progresses and see what degree accutance as they are enlarged is acceptable to you. Good luck.

Shan
BH
Beth_Haney
Dec 29, 2003
The bicubic resampling that is built in to Elements is one of the best at doing this, but you’re asking a whole lot from it. I’m adding instructions for a specific way to resample upwards that will increase its effectiveness, but there’s just nothing magic that will create an enlargement that big from a 3mp camera and retain the quality found in a smaller, unresampled image. People have done comparisons between the bicubic resampling in Elements and other – pricier – programs like Genuine Fractals, and Elements stands up with the best.

Before trying this, make sure you’re working on a copy!