BC
Posted By
bev_cyranowicz
Dec 27, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi, i just got adobe photoshop elements 2.0 for xmas and havent a clue what im doing. so i have a zillion questions, and am desperate to find answers, as i have little patience. lol. am trying to work with layers, but when i open any picture it says i have one layer, which is the background and the whole picture is in there and locked. doesnt the program make the layers for me? do i have to do the layers myself? if so is there a uncomplicated way to do this? thanks!

happy new year everyone

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

JC
Jane_Carter
Dec 27, 2003
Hi Bev, Don’t worry, I was a total beginner last March, and you will find the most wonderful help here!
Here is a start,
<http://www.arraich.com/elements/pse_basics1.htm>
And you will find many other tutorials, books, lessons, and great help to your questions here, as you get rolling with PSE.
Then you will become addicted, and the housework will suffer, but I won’t go into details about that.
Whats that smell coming from the kitchen,,,,,,,,,
Have fun,
Jane
GD
Grant_Dixon
Dec 27, 2003
Bev

Welcome to the most Elements friendly place it the universe.

When an image is imported it is always first background layer. There are certain advantage to this that you will find out as you go… but best to answer one question at a time. There are many ways to make layers first try going to the main menu click on Window and clicking on Layers. This will give you the Layers Pallet, so that you can see what you are working with. Then, for a while, go to the Layers in the main menu and select from there. As work with this you will see the new layers on Layers Pallet. To work on a particular layer click on that layer in the Layers Pallet.

Grant
BC
bev_cyranowicz
Dec 27, 2003