I
Posted By
ijltc
Dec 3, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
In trying to do what I thought would be simple,I discovered either I am really stupid or I am asking for the impossible.I have a Canon G5 which has an aspect ratio of 4:3.An untouched photo comes out in PSE 2 at a size of 14.4 X 10.8in.with 2592 X 1944 pixels @ a resolution of 180.No matter what I do I can not get the whole (or even 90%) of the picture to print out in a 4 X 6in size(aspect of 3:2).Even increasing the resolution to 330 I get a size of 7.85 X 5.9 and then in Print Preview I end up with a white border on top of about 2.6in,hardly what you would call an acceptable 4 X 6 print.
I will admit I’m new to this but it is driving me crazy and I sure would appreciate it if someone could step me through the process of making a 4 X 6 that is a WHOLE picture.Thank you.

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

JH
Jim_Hess
Dec 3, 2003
There is no way I know of that you can get a full frame 4×6 photograph that will display ALL of the picture that you downloaded from your camera. That aspect ratio is not the same, and it will be necessary for you to crop the picture in order to get what you want. Personally, I like to use the crop tool and enter the dimensions that I want. Then, as I crop the picture Elements will make sure that my final photograph is the correct size. But it will be necessary for you to crop some of the picture. Otherwise, I’m afraid your picture would be terribly distorted.
NS
Nancy_S
Dec 3, 2003
ijlct,

As you mentioned, there is a difference in the aspect ratio. It’s the old you can’t put a square peg in a round hole (without doing some modifications at least). You can have the whole picture if you are willing to have it not go to all of the edges, like the band you were describing. Or you can have your image extend to all the edges but you will need to crop one half inch off.