Photoshop CS greyscale images showing up in sepia?

EH
Posted By
Eric_Hartman
May 14, 2005
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I have no idea why, but my greyscale images are loading up in the program with a sepia tone to them. I went ahead and configured my adobe gamma, which did nothing to remedy the issue. When I save the files – they are in black and white, but while editing – sepia.

I have a samsung syncmaster 997DF monitor, and a Radeon 9600 video card.

Anyone have any ideas? Color images look fine…

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

DG
Dana_Gartenlaub
May 14, 2005
You probably should use a hardware calibrator like the Optix or the Spyder. Calibrating by eye is not so accurate.

Also, your eyes are influenced by the ambient light in the room. Close the shades or whatever, so the editing room is dark. See if that helps.
L
LenHewitt
May 14, 2005
I went ahead and configured my adobe gamma<<

Try again. Your monitor profile is not good.

Try selecting the sRGB profile as your starting point, change the text in the description field to something meaningful to you and finally don’t forget to save to a new filename.
EH
Eric_Hartman
May 15, 2005
it has nothing to do with my monitor. I can open greyscale images in corel and they look just fine.

Adobe Photoshop CS just shows them in sepia, but outputs as greyscale…
L
LenHewitt
May 15, 2005
Adobe Photoshop CS just shows them in sepia, but outputs as greyscale…<<

Which PROVES it is your monitor profile.
DM
dave_milbut
May 16, 2005
follow len’s advice and rerun adobe gamma from the control panel.

when you get a spare 10 minutes, read this:

<http://www.computer-darkroom.com/ps8_colour/ps8_1.htm>
EH
Eric_Hartman
May 16, 2005