LH
Posted By
lou_hosta
Apr 24, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I created several Tiff’s in PS 7. When I attempt to look at the File Info I get the following message on some of the files that I created in PS7.

The message is: "Could not complete the File Info command because of a problem with the File Info module.

This does not happen on every file, only on some of them. Has anyone else seen this and does anyone know how to fix it?

Thanks,
Lou

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

RW
Rene_Walling
Apr 25, 2004
What OS are you using?
EM
Edward_McCain
Apr 28, 2004
I am running Photoshop CS on a Mac with OS 10.3.3. I am having much the same problem as Lou. I’m a professional photographer and am using the IPTC data (File Info in Photoshop lingo) to embed metadata about the image so it can be searched for and retrieved.

I’m having a meltdown trying to figure out what is going on with Photoshop CS and the File Info module. I have several hundred files (maybe more) that have had the IPTC data embedded using Image Info Toolkit (IIT) and/or Photoshop 7 (PS7). I can open the files and see the same metadata using IIT, PS7 and iView MediaPro AND PSCS File Browser. I just can’t get to it using PSCS.

When I open the file in PSCS, I sometimes get a message "This file contains file info data which cannot be read and has been ignored," -sometimes… Once the file opens in PSCS, I can see the image and work on it with all the regular Photoshop commands – EXCEPT when I try to use File Info to see the IPTC data. Here’s the alert: "Could not complete the File Info command because of a problem with the File Info module."