BM
Posted By
Becky_Marcum
Mar 31, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
With all this info on how to save an image so everyone on both platforms can read it, I have a question. I have tried saving an image as described….as a tiff with either Mac byte or PC byte but still, some pc’s cannot read these files. I am a graphic designer so I have to be able to produce files that ALL pc’s can read. I have a Mac so sometimes this is quite a challenge. So my question is this. Basically, when you save an image on a pc, it comes across as a "Pictureview" image which can be opened through pictureview and Photoshop. Is there any way to save an image as a pictureview image on a Mac? It seems that all pc’s can read this format.
Thanks for your help
B

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

CC
Chris_Cox
Apr 1, 2004
If the PC can’t read the file – you did somethign wrong in transferring the file.

The TIFF byte order makes no difference.

The only thing a Macintosh user has to do to make their files readable on Windows is use the correct file extension (which Photoshop does by default).

PictureView isn’t a format – it’s a default picture viewer (like Preview on OS X).
BM
Becky_Marcum
Apr 1, 2004
So, basically, if I saved the files for pc’s, if they can’t read it, do you think it is something on their end? Some pc people can read the file, some cannot.
CC
Chris_Cox
Apr 1, 2004
It could be something on their end, or something in the way you transferred the file.

If some can read it and some cannot, I’d expect operator error.
BM
Becky_Marcum
Apr 1, 2004
So elaborate.
I was told this by a printing company who deals with this on a daily basis. To make sure a PC can read the