Retouching headshots – any hints or tricks?

P
Posted By
Phosphor
Sep 3, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi — I’ve been using PS and now PSE for quite a few years but only in a VERY basic way for personal stuff and desktop publishing at old jobs at a church & acting school. (Paid for lots of classes!!!) I’m an actor and just had new headshots done. I went digital and color, B&W is on the way out. The photographer retouched one on the spot – he dodged my scalp and used the healing brush – that tool is great!!! Yesterday I went and had 3 photos retouched (at $30 EACH), being scared to do much myself since the dodging I did on my scalp looked pretty bad.

Well, it was great sitting down with the retoucher and watching him work. It gave me the confidence to do the other 5 photos myself. (I’m a character actor and need different shots) I consider those $$ very well spent since I will save in the long run.

To brighten my eyes and teeth I used the red eye tool – amazing watching the yellow go away on those teeth. Then later I tried the Burn tool and that also worked great. Any other ideas?

The clone tool was great to even out complexion imperfections, extra shadows, etc. What other tools are good to use for that?

For the scalp, I copied some good hair in a wedge and positioned it over the bad spot and streched, rotated and erased bits of it. I just made sure the hair matched well.

Any suggestions for settings for the dodge tool? I set the opacity down to 20% and used the midtones setting. My first attempts were dark and blotchy. Yuk. The number of choices is mindboggling!

I also ran levels, flattened all the layers, put a black border around photo and set up my name. Heck, they charge $5 to add a black order around the photo to set it off from the white border and name. That was the easiest thing of all to do!!!