How to get best color matching from commercial printer?

Posted By
150mph
Mar 4, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’ve been working in PS7 for weeks on a beautiful company brochure and now I’m preparing final hi-res files for the printer. I’ve got lots of gradients, tiny lines, saturated colors, faded bk images and details which look so great in PS and I want to hang on to as much of them as possible. After over 20 years as a graphic designer, I’m not a newbie – I know a lot of the basics, but I suck at color profiles and matching monitors to final printing . I’m rarely satisfied with the color I get back from the printer so I’m curious about what you guys suggest for the most accurate color matching?

The printer will be ripping my files with a Scitex. Is there a color profile I can get to match this? – We have a highend 600dpi HP DesignJet 5500 printer here but the colors are very far off from what I want.

The final PS7 doc is CMYK. Printing is 4/C + xtra black. I’ll deliver Quark 5 files with 250dpi CMYK tiffs. (300dpi would make the doc too huge so I settled for less) All type is in Quark. To make things more complex, I can’t talk directly with the printer, as we have a rather officious company Prod. Mgr I have to go through who knows everything about printing and nothing about computers or color matching monitors to printers. We’ll order an Iris print for matching, but at $100 a pop, I’ll only get one and I want it to be as right on as possible the first time. I do get to press check.

BTW the (folded) dimensions are 5" x 7" (7×40" accordian fold) so I’m hoping the full page gradients aren’t big enough to cause banding. I’ve tried to keep gradients close in color from top to bottom to avoid banding.

Thanks for reading through this mess. Any suggestions appreciated

0s9.2.2 G4

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

JS
John_Slate
Mar 4, 2004