EM
Posted By
Ed Maurer
Jul 27, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
When doing indoor pictures of people using the flashlight of my F200 camera i cannot avoid to get hard shadows e.g. on the wall behind persons, esp. around the head; i could not find a good way to get rid or ameliorate theese shadows with good results.

Which tools do you use? Many thanks for help,
Ed

(I am quite new to PSE; i learned to use this program mostly from the book from Mikkel Aland; but i could not find a sample dealing with this problem.)

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

KL
Kenneth Liffmann
Jul 27, 2003
Ed,
It is difficult to give advice just based on the verbal description, but you might try the following:
1. duplicate background layer
2. create new (blank) layer above that
3. use clone tool over the shadow on the
new layer, cloning the "good" wall
over the undesirable shadow.
Another technique that I have used to correct blemishes is:
1. duplicate background layer
2. click eye of this layer to turn
off visibility
3. to bottom layer apply dust and
scratches filter – play with setting
4. turn on visibility to top layer and
use eraser tool.
Ken
LK
Leen Koper
Jul 27, 2003
Not exactly an answer to your question, but the best way is to avoid these shadows. I know this is almost impossible with a built in flash, but with vertical images consider holding the camera in a way the flash is on top. This way the shadow will be behind the subject.

Leen
J
JuergenDirrigl
Jul 27, 2003
Leen,

I was thinking the same way. Another consideration is to light up the room as much as possible, even though the flash would suffice for the person(s). Of course, that is not always practical or possible.

Juergen
LK
Leen Koper
Jul 27, 2003