Weird "Flatten Image" Behavior making me crazy!

BD
Posted By
Bad_Dog
Jun 22, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hello all. I’m a design professional, and consider myself pretty fluent in Photoshop (nearly 10 years), but this behavior has me baffled.

I have a grayscale image with threshold effect that I want colorize. I add a hue/saturation layer, check ‘colorize’, adjust till it looks good.

Here’s the bit that’s been driving me nuts: when I flatten the image, the colorization disappears and I’m left with the greyscale again.

I’ve tried it many different ways: Performing the hue saturation on the layer directly (no adjustment layer) – this looks like it’s going to work, i.e. the image gets colorized when the preview box is checked in the effect dialog, but when I click OK, it returns to grayscale!!

I’ve also tried adding a solid layer and setting it’s blending mode to color – same exact behavior – returns to grayscale when flattened.

Can anyone offer any help with this?! I’m really stumped at this point. If you want to have a look at the file, I uploaded it to <http://fthatjob.com/flush_big.psd> (~2.8 Megs)

Same thing happens in PS7 + PS8 (CS)

And here’s more weirdness I just discovered – if I shrink the file from it’s current 3072 x 2048 to, say, 640 x 427, and then do the flatten, everything works as expected!!!

Anyone have a clue what’s is going on here?

-G

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

H
Ho
Jun 23, 2004
I’m not sure I follow you exactly. I assume you mean that you have a desaturated RGB image, since you cannot add a hue/saturation adjustment layer to a true grayscale image. I tried to duplicate this on a 2628×4047 pixel image and got the expected results, i.e., the colorization held.