KM
Posted By
Karouna_Manikhot
Jun 15, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m still very very new to photoshop. Sorry…but as topic says, how do I crop an image into a hexagon shape??
Very sorry for the dummy question!

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

MV
Mathias_Vejerslev
Jun 15, 2004
Hi Karouna,

Not to worry, weยดve all been new sometime.

The answer is that an image must be rectangular in shape. You can add a border to your image so it will look like a hexagonal shape, depending on which background your image is placed (white border+white background = illusion of hexagonal image).

Mathias
MM
Mac_McDougald
Jun 15, 2004
As Mathias says, images are actually rectangular regardles…

But you can make a shaped image with transparency around.

Try this:

1. freehand. Use Polygon Lasso. Draw hexgon. Select/Inverse. Delete. This makes hex image against background color if on background image. Or make background a layer first, and will leave hex against transparency.

2. Or (again make layer first or select background color if background image, like white).
Polygon Tool, Paths Icon in Options, sides: 6. Draw hex. Right click on what you’ve drawn/Make Selection/Select: Inverse/Delete.

If you’ve made white background will look hex image on white paper or background. If you’ve made transparent, will need to be saved in format that supports transparency, depending on what you’re using it for: TIFF, GIF, PNG.

M
KM
Karouna_Manikhot
Jun 15, 2004
Thank you Mac and Mathias,

I went the with polygonal lasso option. Such an easy task…I feel embarrassed…

Cheers….
MM
Mac_McDougald
Jun 15, 2004
I would have thought that would have been harder…
free hand and all, even contraining to 45 degree lines.

M
KM
Karouna_Manikhot
Jun 15, 2004