WT
Posted By
World Traveler
Jun 15, 2005
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m new to any sophisticated photo manipulation and the layers process, although I have a long background in serious (but amateur) photography (I still remember Marshall Oils!). I did attend a recent Adobe seminar on Photoshop Elements 3.0 held in Tampa, but since I hadn’t gotten the program yet I’m sure I didn’t get full value from the exposure. I also live in a rural area so I can’t just pop down to a Borders and browse through the offerings.

I’ve just purchased Photoshop Elements 3.0 and a Wacom 6 x 8 tablet, for the specific purpose of taking a scanned-in 60-year-old B&W wedding family picture and "colorizing" it. This is intended as a surprise to an 82-year-old widow who needs something to remind her of happier early days. I expect to have at least two big problems — skin tones (Asian family) and getting the right color in very dark backdrops that are almost pure black in the scanned image.

Two questions:

1. What are your recommendations as the best reference for me to use in learning PSE 3 and completing this project?

2. Are there any discussion groups or on-line sources of information on how to tint a black-and-white photo using Photoshop Elements?

Your ideas, please — Regards —

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

K
KatWoman
Jun 15, 2005
"World Traveler" wrote in message