Newbie wants to lift a signature off a page.

M
Posted By
msgrappling
Dec 11, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I scanned a page with a signature onto my comp using photoshop and I’m trying to use photoshop to lift the sig off the page. The signature needs to be cleaned up though because it was written over other letters and lines. Also how do you turn the background into a white or transparent background. Can anyone tell me how to do that? I am TOTALLY NEW AT THIS PROGRAM. Is this the best place to ask beginner questions like this or are there other places for guys like me to go? You can email me directly as
Thanks for your help,
Mark

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

F
Farlo
Dec 11, 2003
(Mark) wrote:

Is this the best place to ask beginner
questions like this or are there other places for guys like me to go?

There are usually tutorials in the manual. The first chapter is often devoted to new features and a very basic tutorial.

Farlo, the Urban Fey Dragon
R
Rick
Dec 11, 2003
"Mark" wrote in message
I scanned a page with a signature onto my comp using photoshop and I’m trying to use photoshop to lift the sig off the page. The signature needs to be cleaned up though because it was written over other letters and lines. Also how do you turn the background into a white or transparent background. Can anyone tell me how to do that? I am TOTALLY NEW AT THIS PROGRAM. Is this the best place to ask beginner questions like this or are there other places for guys like me to go? You can email me directly as
Thanks for your help,
Mark

The easiest way is to adjust your scanner software before bringing it into PS. Set it to scan in B&W/1-bit mode, and if it has custom whitepoint and blackpoint settings, see if you can adjust them to recognize the signature as black and everything else as white (or even vice-versa will work, you can invert the image once it’s in PS).