D
Posted By
Dugjak
Jun 1, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am new to Photoshop 8 CS. I am scanning photographs for a book that will be offset printed, problem is that some of the original photographs are no longer available and I have to work from either newspaper prints or prints in existing books. When I do this I get a ‘moire’ effect and the printed scans are unsatisfactory. My scanning software does not have a control to remove this effect (at least I cannot find one). I have read that I should use a blur effect. Is there a filter in photoshop designed for this or a particular plug-in that will assist me?

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ”₯

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

V
Voivod
Jun 1, 2004
On Tue, 1 Jun 2004 20:02:18 +1000, "Dugjak"
scribbled:

I am new to Photoshop 8 CS. I am scanning photographs for a book that will be offset printed, problem is that some of the original photographs are no longer available and I have to work from either newspaper prints or prints in existing books. When I do this I get a ‘moire’ effect and the printed scans are unsatisfactory. My scanning software does not have a control to remove this effect (at least I cannot find one). I have read that I should use a blur effect. Is there a filter in photoshop designed for this or a particular plug-in that will assist me?

One thing to try is a sheet of black construction paper behind the item to be scanned it cuts down on any bleed through.
N
nomail
Jun 1, 2004
Dugjak wrote:

I am new to Photoshop 8 CS. I am scanning photographs for a book that will be offset printed, problem is that some of the original photographs are no longer available and I have to work from either newspaper prints or prints in existing books. When I do this I get a ‘moire’ effect and the printed scans are unsatisfactory. My scanning software does not have a control to remove this effect (at least I cannot find one).