Saving as a PDF… should I check the color boxes?

NV
Posted By
Nick_V.
Jan 22, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
My client has asked specifically for a PDF for an advertisement I’m putting together. I assembled it in Photoshop 7, and have saved it as a layered PDF. It looks fine and prints fine, but my question is this…

If I am sending it to a professional printer, should I check off either of the "color" boxes on the save as menu? Specifically, they are:

Use Proof Setup: Working CMYK
and
ICC Profile: U.S. Web Coated (SWOP) v2

My hunch (I’m kinda new to this) is that I should be saving it with the CMYK setup. However, when I do this, it automatically saves it as a copy, rather than a layered file. I don’t know if this degrades the print quality or not. Can anyone help? Thanks!

– Nick

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

L
LenHewitt
Jan 23, 2004
Nick,

Just check the ICC Profile box
GS
Gustavo_Sanchez
Jan 23, 2004
Len,

Excuse me, but what’s the difference between checking ‘Use proof setup’ or not?

I’ve always wondered myself…
NV
Nick_V.
Jan 23, 2004
"Just check the ICC Profile box"

Thank you, but perhaps you could explain the differences? This would be useful information.

– Nick
L
LenHewitt
Jan 23, 2004
Hi Gustavo,

what’s the difference between checking ‘Use proof setup’ or not?<<

Not sure I can do much better than the Photoshop Help file explains it…Specifically the "Selecting this option converts the document’s colors to the proof profile space and is useful for creating an output file for print. "

To change the embedding behavior of a profile in a document:

1.. Choose File > Save As.
2.. Do one of the following: