S
Posted By
Satwa
Dec 17, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Why bother with Illustrator, when you can save Photoshop as EPS files. Is there a difference?
Can anyone give a specific example of when you would need to use Illustrator? For example, if you want to make a large poster/billboard, does the print shop ask for an Illustrator file type….or what?
What do they ask for at Print shops for very large posters etc? Thanks.

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

DM
dave_milbut
Dec 17, 2003
You use illustrator for illustrating (aka drawing) and photoshop for photo editing.
S
Satwa
Dec 17, 2003
Actually, as an illustrator, I use Photoshop for illustrating….I don’ think there is anyhting Illustrator can do that photoshop cannot in that regard, in fact I think it is more limited for detailed attention with a graphics pen…..but photoshop handles color and subtle tones better(for my ink-jet printer anyway)
DM
Don_McCahill
Dec 17, 2003
I use Illustrator when I need to create vector objects. The program is optimized for this, and the tools are more efficient.
H
Ho
Dec 17, 2003
Illustrator is one of the tools of professional graphic artists. It creates vector postscript/eps files and art work, while Photoshop does not. A Photoshop EPS file is still a bitmap and cannot be flagrantly resized without catastrophic loss of quality. Crisp, clear resolution independent objects and text are the hallmark of vector apps such as Illy and FreeHand, and the difference between a magazine ad created in either one of those apps vs. one created in Photoshop is visible a mile away. Even you could see it. Okay, that sounded a little too condescending. Anyone could see it. 🙂
SV
Steve_Vesperman
Dec 17, 2003
Hey Ho,

what he said!
H
Ho
Dec 17, 2003
Hey Steve. <gives FreeHand secret shake and salute>
S
Satwa