DF
Posted By
Derek Fountain
Jul 23, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’ve been using Photoshop for a couple of years now, and have always used a mouse. Everything I seem to read says "a tablet is essential". That sounds rather subjective really, so I was wondering if one would benefit me.

I don’t do anything arty, as such. No drawing or anything like that. I do mostly photography work, which for the most part involves cropping, straightening, colour correcting, etc. Would a tablet help there? I’ve always assumed not.

I also do some editing work, mostly retouching and restoration. For the most part I feel like I get on with the mouse. Occasionally there’s a tricky selection or path which makes me think I could really use a tablet, but generally I seem to manage. Yet in her book, Katrin Eismann describes a tablet as "an absolute must".

Someone tell me, what am I missing out on?

My local computer store has Wacom 4×5" Graphire3 tablet in stock, which seems rather small to me. Is a tablet which is smaller than a standard photo useful or a gimmick? They also have a 6×8" version, but it’s twice the cost of the small one. Does it make that much difference as to justify the expense? Is it worth going the whole hog and getting the Intuos2 version (which no one seems to sell locally)?

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

J
jenelisepasceci
Jul 23, 2004
Derek Fountain wrote:

I’ve been using Photoshop for a couple of years now, and have always used a mouse. Everything I seem to read says "a tablet is essential". That sounds rather subjective really, so I was wondering if one would benefit me.
I don’t do anything arty, as such. No drawing or anything like that. I do mostly photography work, which for the most part involves cropping, straightening, colour correcting, etc. Would a tablet help there? I’ve always assumed not.