OG
Posted By
ORLANDO_GONDAR
Feb 11, 2009
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hello folks, I am new to Photoshop CS3 Extended.

There are some things that I used to do with another program, that can figure out how to do it with Photoshop

1: On Photopaint, I used to click on the canvas, masking the white background lets say, and then I click on "invert" and the mask will be on the objects on the white background, ( anything that was not white )
From there I could copy and paste or save the selection.

How I do this on Photoshop, masking an object from a background ?

2: On Photopaint I could said New from Clipboard
and there is the new picture with whatever was on memory, however I try that and all I get on Photoshop is a white canvas the size of the object on memory, but just that, blank.

Those 2 tips will be very gooooood for me if someone can help me….

100000000 of thanks

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

M
Mylenium
Feb 11, 2009

1. Layers and selections. PS does not use objects as in PPaint. To keep a selected part of the image separate, simply copy&Paste. It will be inserted as a new layer. From that you can restore selections any time by Ctrl+clicking on the layer thumbnail. Alternatively , explicitly save your selection as a custom channel (Select –> Save Selection). This also can be used to non-destructively retouching layers, if the selection is saved to a layer mask. Double-click the "Background" to turn it into a floating layer, apply the selection to it (dashed circle in the layers palette or Select menu again).

2. Simply paste. As per the above, AE will create a floating layer containing your actual data. It’s a minor inconvenience, but better this way.

Mylenium
EF
Erin_Foley
Feb 12, 2009