R
Posted By
RK8
Jan 18, 2009
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m new to photoshop. I’m trying the 30 day trial. I am doing the 2nd lesson from the book, Adobe Photoshop CS4 by Adobe. Its the lesson with the "Pitch In" post card where you type some text on the picture with the horizontal text tool.(Lesson 01, "01B_Start.psd")

Then the book directs you to use the move tool to move the text to the sandy area of the picture. I followed each step meticulously, but after I move the text, it continues to be selected (quivering) and the original text stays where it was originally typed, leaving two separate lines of text.

The book shows in its example, the text *moves*. On my machine, it appears that it just copies the text rather than moves it. What am I doing wrong or is there something wrong with CS4 as I’ve read a lot of bad things about it being buggy.

RK

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

P
Phosphor
Jan 18, 2009
Are you holding down any keys? And have you committed theText by clicking on theh check?
R
RK8
Jan 18, 2009
Here’s what book says to do. I did it exactly as instructed.

4. Click once anywhere on the left side of the image and type "Monday is beach day".

The text appears with the font and size you selected.

5. In the tools panel, select the Move tool.

6. Position the move tool pointer over the text you typed and drag the text on the sand, centering it over the bench.

That’s all it states! It doesn’t tell me what to do after that. I did that and have text in two spots now, original typed text, and the moved quivering area.

It then starts an instruction about how to change the color of the text which also does not work.

RK
R
RK8
Jan 18, 2009