ML
Posted By
Mary_L_Bernard
Jan 7, 2009
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am about to build a high-end PC to use with Photoshop CS4 (under Vista 64 bit). I’ve never built one before; I’m doing it partly to learn more about how they’re put together, and partly so as to get exactly what I want – as fast as possible for Photoshop; watercooled; and very, very quiet.

Most high-end computers seem to be designed for gamers, not Photoshoppers, and most advice is aimed at gamers. I’ve searched the web for Photoshop-specific advice, but it’s mostly about CS3, and not up to speed on things like the i7 CPU, and what graphics card/s are best for CS4.

Can anyone recommend a site or sites with this kind of information – or is there any kind soul on this forum who would answer a few questions privately? I don’t have very many – it’s things like SSDs vs. Velociraptors for the swap drive (and what size SSD if so); the big graphics card question: one, or two in SLI/Crossfire; and whether 16 Gb of RAM is over the top or way too little.

Sorry to take up bandwidth on these questions, but I’m hoping that someone can direct me to the right place to ask them.

Thanks

Mary

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ”₯

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

JT
John_T_Smith
Jan 7, 2009
A computer built to run games will also do photo editing VERY fast

Asus P6T motherboard with Intel i7 and 3 each 2gig (matched) ram for 6 Gig of 3 channel memory with Ati 4870 is what I am looking at building later this year (if the tax man is kind)
J
jcates
Jan 7, 2009
I’ll echo John here a bit with an emphasis on the Asus board. The Intel i7 boards are poorly designed. They work okay, but the SATA ports tend to get blocked by the larger video cards which makes adding additional hard drives or opticals problematic or impossible.