How the hell do you stop ATI Catalyst from controling the colours?!

MO
Posted By
Mateus_Orius
Nov 30, 2008
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi all, I’ve posted this on the ATI website but thought I’d try here for some expertise from the Adobe people because this has to do with colour profiles and people here may know more.

This is beginning to annoy me. Sorry for the bad tempered start.

I’ve just bought a 1GB Sapphire HD 4850. And to cut a long story short, when I’m using my Adobe products, there is a colour tint to all images. When I had my previous nVIDIA card, I had no problem. When I uninstall all drivers, again there is no problem with colours. But when I install the Catalyst software, I have problem.

Now, I’m a photographer and use Lightroom, Photoshop and Bridge regularly. I just upgraded to CS4 which I’m still trying out. (I have no idea if this happens in CS3 as it’s no longer on my computer.) I got the card on Friday, shot a wedding yesterday. As you can imagine, I’m not in the best mood. I’ve searched and searched and it seems to be down to the colour profiling which is enforced. After reading < http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=279&thr eadid=97593> I’ve tried installing Powerstrip and loading the colour profile before I installed the card, but that hasn’t worked. In fairness, I haven’t spent too long figuring out how to use Powerstrip. But at the same time, I don’t want Catalyst managing any profiles. My monitor and programs are just fine without it. Furthermore, I’d like to be able to easily choose what manages what.

So please, anyone, how to I completely remove all colour control from Catalyst. Either that or how can I

System:
Phenom 9950 BE on M3A32-MVP Deluxe mobo
4gb ram (but only 3 used because I’m using XP Pro SP3)
1gb Sapphire HD4850 using Catalyst 8.11
Lenovo L220x (primary) and Viewsonic VX924 (secondary)

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups