W
Posted By
wntw
Oct 23, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am a newbie to Photoshop trying to learn the ropes. I take photos with a Fuji S1 and the proofs come back 4 x 6. I want to get 4 x 5’s. How do I format or resize?
Thanks

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

JW
JP White
Oct 24, 2003
wntw wrote:
I am a newbie to Photoshop trying to learn the ropes. I take photos with a Fuji S1 and the proofs come back 4 x 6. I want to get 4 x 5’s. How do I format or resize?
Thanks

Since both heights you specify are 4" you will have to use the crop tool to eliminate the unwanted width. Enter the width and height in the crop tool options bar. Then you can drag out the crop area on the photo. You will only be able to move the corners of the cropped area and/or move the cropped area around on the image. Once you are happy with the area of the crop hit enter the image will be cropped and resized to the size you specified.

JP
E
Eliska
Oct 24, 2003
On Thu, 23 Oct 2003 19:43:57 -0400, "wntw" wrote:

Thanks

Literally

Image> Image Size >Document Size – type in the dimensions and choose inches from the drop down menu but uncheck Constrain Proportions

But the image will be distorted

If you want to crop the image, then one way you can do it is turn on the rulers – Command/Ctrl +R – and use the rectangular marquee tool (M) to draw a 4 x 5 rectangle. Then move it around the image til it’s cropped the way you want.

The copy – Command/Ctrl +C
Open a new document – Command/Ctrl +N (the document will automatically be 4 x 5)
Paste – Command/Ctrl +V
and Voila! a new 4 x 5 picture.
Save As – Shift +Command/Ctrl +S whatever name and in whatever folder you want it.

And you still have the original 4 x 6 picture.

I’m pretty new too, so there may be other ways. I’ll be watching.
S
Stephan
Oct 24, 2003