Learning Photoshop (what about Videos DVDs?)

J
Posted By
jacobpressures
Sep 1, 2008
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m interested in learning Photoshop or maybe some other graphic editing program. But I don’t want to invest the money because i hear that PS is hard to learn. Can i teach myself or is it better to learn in the classroom?

I really don’t have a ton of time to dedicate to it. I’m a novice programmer and i spend a lot of my time reading programming books. PS would just be another chore on my to-do list. I don’t want to have to wait a year or more just to see results. There are so many tools. But PS would really help with website development.

I saw this DVD. Photoshop CS3 One-on-One (Video Training) for $150. I’m hoping it will help. I get tired of reading all the time so I’m trying to find some alternative ways to learn all the stuff i need to learn.

I’m wondering how effective they are. Is it really worth it. On amazon it got good reviews though.

Any ideas? Thanks guys

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

BL
Bob Levine
Sep 1, 2008
www.lynda.com/idsecrets.

That should give you a one week trial. But my gut tells me that you’re not going put enough into learning this. I’ve been using Photoshop for 14 years and on a basis of percentage of features, I know less now than I did then.

Good luck, though.

Bob
G
gowanoh
Sep 1, 2008
Watching someone demonstrate how to use color management, layers and masks makes it much easier to pick up the basic concepts.
However if you are not pursuing photography or graphic arts why would you want to bother with Photoshop?
JJ
John Joslin
Sep 1, 2008
Try Lynda.com.
P
Phosphor
Sep 1, 2008
I refer you to the following thread where we discussed the beginner’s dilemma:

<http://www.adobeforums.com/webx?128@@.59b503f7>
P
Phosphor
Sep 1, 2008