Lightroom or Bridge

Posted By
Aug 28, 2008
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am relatively new to Photoshop and Lightroom. I purchased Photoshop CS3 Extended this summer, which included the new version of Bridge. I have also tried the trial version of Lightroom 2.

Is there any reason to purchase Lightroom when I already have Bridge? What would be the advantage of Lightroom?

Thanks!

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

A
aglet
Aug 28, 2008
<Premo> wrote in message
I am relatively new to Photoshop and Lightroom. I purchased Photoshop CS3 Extended this summer, which included the new version of Bridge. I have also tried the trial version of Lightroom 2.

Is there any reason to purchase Lightroom when I already have Bridge? What would be the advantage of Lightroom?

Thanks!

Well, the simple answer is that Bridge is a file manager, whereas Lightroom is a database that allows you to make non-destructive adjustments to your photos. I’ve never used Bridge much because I think it is a clumsy, useless program. I use Lightroom all the time and more often than not don’t have to bring my photos into Photoshop at all. I can make any general exposure, contrast, etc., adjustments to the RAW files in Lightroom. I only go to Photoshop when I need to mask certain areas or do more artistic work.

I’m not saying you need Lightroom — that depends on your workflow — but the two applications are really nothing like each other.
A
andyj1011
Sep 2, 2008
On Aug 27, 9:10 pm, Premo wrote:
I am relatively new to Photoshop andLightroom.  I purchased Photoshop CS3 Extended this summer, which included the new version of Bridge.  I have also tried the trial version ofLightroom2.

Is there any reason to purchaseLightroomwhen I already have Bridge? What would be the advantage ofLightroom?

Thanks!