TM
Posted By
Travis_Minnig
Apr 27, 2008
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am sure that there are several people tired of these questions, but I am having a hard time finding anything to address my specific problems in the Knowledgebase, the FAQ’s, or with searches of the forums. So, I hope you all will forgive me if my questions are redundant and either direct me to the information I need or be willing to take the time to answer my questions. Also, I am going to give some background so that it might help you to help me, so please bear with me; I have spent weeks trying to find the information to fix this on my own and I can’t seem to get anywhere by myself…

OK, I am a professional photographer and about a year ago I switched labs. At the time I was doing my editing with Photoshop Elements 6. I had recently photographed a wedding (JPG image capture) and took some of the image files in for test printing and matching. Right out of the gate everything looked great; tonal range, color matching, and saturation were all either right on or very close to what I expected going from a LCD monitor to paper prints. Then, I did a family session (RAW image capture) and the color fell apart. My images had severe problems rendering blues specifically, but the worst part was the color banding which also was worst in the blue areas of the print. I tried and tried to remedy the problem, but couldn’t. Finally, I purchased CS3 hoping that the ability to work with 16-bit color would take care of it. My camera shoots a 12-bit RAW file, and when I opened in CameraRAW I applied: 16-bit depth and a sRGB profile to it. With that and a less destructive technique on a vignette, the prints came out great again and I thought my problems were taken care of.