C
Posted By
Conan
Oct 19, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
How do you use the background eraser? Is there an advantage to using it instead of using the lasso tool to select a background and then to simply cut it out? Thanks. I’m new to Photoshop.

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

JM
John McGerr
Oct 19, 2003
The ideal way to use the eraser is to have one layer on top of another then on the top layer you erase parts of it to let the background show through. I used it recently with an outline of a map of my parish, placed over an aerial photo of my hometown. I erased the ‘middle’ of the map and the town image showed through. It’s also useful for montages.
John McGerr
"Conan" wrote in message
How do you use the background eraser? Is there an advantage to using it instead of using the lasso tool to select a background and then to simply cut it out? Thanks. I’m new to Photoshop.

JM
John McGerr
Oct 19, 2003
The ideal way to use the eraser is to have one layer on top of another then on the top layer you erase parts of it to let the background show through. I used it recently with an outline of a map of my parish, placed over an aerial photo of my hometown. I erased the ‘middle’ of the map and the town image showed through. It’s also useful for montages.
John McGerr
"Conan" wrote in message

R
ralford
Oct 19, 2003
Just lurk’n but thanks. Little isites like this make lurking worthwhile.

Cheers,

rma

"John McGerr" wrote in message
The ideal way to use the eraser is to have one layer on top of another
then
on the top layer you erase parts of it to let the background show through.
I
used it recently with an outline of a map of my parish, placed over an aerial photo of my hometown. I erased the ‘middle’ of the map and the town image showed through. It’s also useful for montages.
John McGerr
"Conan" wrote in message