J
Posted By
jfroche
Jun 21, 2009
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
On one of those rare occasions when my family was together, somebody suggested a family photograph. Unfortunately, it was warm inside and cold outside so the image ended up with the top half of the photograph washed out, almost fogged over, while the bottom half is fine. There are a couple of other minor flaws as well (trees growing out of my brothers head, another brothers hair messed up) but I have been able to fix these. Any ideas on how to get the big problem resolved. I am a newbie who uses PSE for organization and minor adjustments and have recently upgraded to PSE 7.

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

J
jfroche
Jun 22, 2009
On Jun 21, 12:49 pm, Jimbo wrote:
On one of those rare occasions when my family was together, somebody suggested a family photograph.  Unfortunately, it was warm inside and cold outside so the image ended up with the top half of the photograph washed out, almost fogged over, while the bottom half is fine.  There are a couple of other minor flaws as well (trees growing out of my brothers head, another brothers hair messed up) but I have been able to fix these.  Any ideas on how to get the big problem resolved.  I am a newbie who uses PSE for organization and minor adjustments and have recently upgraded to PSE 7.

Some further detail: I’ve added a number of adjustment layers to different parts of the washed out part of the picture which have improved it significantly. Is this the correct approach or is there some other strategy I should use. This brings me to another question, what is the correct strategy for tackling a problem image like this? Apply general fix to background to optimize it followed by adjustment layers, etc.
LL
Leo Lichtman
Jun 22, 2009