W
Posted By
wingspar
Dec 11, 2007
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I do all my shooting in sRGB I. I’m new to Photoshop, but not digital photo processing. I just processed a photo shot in RAW. I processed in ACR, then did the crop and finished the editing in CS3, saving as a tif for printing. When I print the photo up in Qimage (my printing program) at the end of the file info is *Adobe RGB 1998*. Where did that come from?

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

B
Buko
Dec 11, 2007
RAW files are not sRGB or any other flavor of RGB.

when you opened the RAW file and it was converted to an image CAmera RAW was set to make it Adobe RGB.
W
wingspar
Dec 11, 2007
Is there a way around this? Most of my stuff is for the web, and saved as a jpg when I’m done, and I certainly don’t want Adobe RGB 1998 for that.
AD
Andrei_Doubrovski
Dec 11, 2007
Hello,
Check your color settings (Edit > Color Settings).
Perhaps, your Photoshop silently converts all opened images to Adobe RGB.
RG
Rags Gardner
Dec 11, 2007
Wingspar,

ACR remembers the last used size and profile. Open one in sRGB and you should be ok unless it gets changed again. Andrei also gave good advice. If your default work space is aRGB and your options are set to convert to that when opened you would see similar behavior.

Cheers, Rags 🙂
LH
Lawrence_Hudetz
Dec 11, 2007
You are better off saving as Adobe RGB then converting to sRGB when you save for web.

You also want to consider saving as tiff as well for printing.
W
wingspar
Dec 11, 2007
Edit > Color Settings is set to sRGB IEC61966-2.1. I found this, and set it to sRGB when I first installed CS2.