T
Posted By
Travis
May 14, 2006
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I have Adobe photoshop elements 4 and am reading a book tutorial that is for photoshop 7. But elements is 80/20 (80% the features of photoshop, 20% the price).

I noticed in the book they have a layer called reduce, and then they want me to press the layer mask button while that layer is selected. elements 4 does not have a layer mask button at all. As far as I know you can only use it with adjustment layers or something like that.

Is there a way I can do that? Or is that one of the 20% features that aren’t in elements that are in photoshop

-travis

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

T
Travis
May 15, 2006
should i be posting in alt.computer, 50,000 members can’t be wrong
C
chris
May 17, 2006
I’m fairly new to PSE4, but I believe that you’ve picked on one of the 20%ers. Note, however, that PSE4 has the ability to work around some of these (20%) features – someone with more experience will need to advise if this is possible in this case.

Cheers

Chris

PS I would have thought this is a better forum than the other you suggest.
LW
LeRoy Williams
May 18, 2006
Layer masks can be created in PSE4 by installing a third party plug-in. Google " layer mask photoshop elements" for web site.

Travis" wrote in message
I have Adobe photoshop elements 4 and am reading a book tutorial that is for photoshop 7. But elements is 80/20 (80% the features of photoshop, 20% the price).

I noticed in the book they have a layer called reduce, and then they want me to press the layer mask button while that layer is selected. elements 4 does not have a layer mask button at all. As far as I know you can only use it with adjustment layers or something like that.
Is there a way I can do that? Or is that one of the 20% features that aren’t in elements that are in photoshop

-travis
T
Travis
May 18, 2006