OT: Need opinions: Is this a photo or a scan?

BH
Posted By
Beth_Haney
May 16, 2005
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
This came from an eBay listing, and it’s extremely sharp and clear. I can’t figure out if someone used a Macro setting on a digital camera or scanned it. Thoughts?

< http://www.pixentral.com/show.php?pic=1Ei0enRhd4O9o8ePNLT6ja 0XNYPa>

If it looks like it was scanned, that’s pretty simple. If it looks like it’s a photo, is anyone willing to give me pointers on how to set up a coin for this kind of clarity? I’m talking background, lighting, etc.

Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

Edit: I hope I got that bad link off fast enough!

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

B
Bernie
May 16, 2005
To me it looks like a scan.. because of what I see as slight distortion…. but I am no expert…. as far as how to photograph a coin I have only ever been give one piece of advise for any subject….

1. Practice
2. Practice
3. Practice…..

Hope it helps… ๐Ÿ˜€

david
N
narya
May 16, 2005
That doesn’t look like a scan at all, the angle is just not right. Note that you can see the rim of the coin only at the top, not at the bottom.

Furthermore scanning silver and gold is quite tricky, because it reflects the scanner’s light. At least my scanner won’t do it with coins at all ๐Ÿ™

Alexander.

Canon Ixus 430 (aka S410) | x86 with XP Pro | PSE v3.0.1 with 3k images | 12" Powerbook soon ๐Ÿ™‚
R
RSD99
May 16, 2005
Looks like a photo to me. It’s really very easy (but often time consuming) to get this level of results for a flat object such as a coin.

To learn how, look for some of the tutorials "on the web" on Macro Photography or Jewelry Photography.

wrote in message
This came from an eBay listing, and it’s extremely sharp and clear. I