H
Posted By
Hallvard
May 6, 2005
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Is anyone here using Photoshop elements to design web-graphics?

I’m a newbie to Photoshop elements (2.0) and I’ve been looking around everywhere on the web for tutorials on how to design web-buttons, logos, illustrations and other cool things for websites, but only very rarely find the occasional "how to". Most of the time I don’t even understand it because it’s for Photoshop (and not Photoshop elements), or it assumes the person knows the basics of the program.
I’ve also looked around in bookstores for guides on this subject, but just about all Photoshop Elements books discuss photo retouching/editing.

I’d like to learn how to make things from scratch, and right now that would be stuff for my website.

Any good pointers out there?

Hallvard

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

PA
Patti Anderson
May 6, 2005
First, I think you do need to take time to learn the basics of the software…it’s going to take more than a day at the computer. PE2 can do many of the same things as its big brother Photoshop, but you have to know the basics to be able to know what will work and what needs a workaround. 🙂 This forum is a great place to get workarounds!!

Basic Web page templates can be created by starting with a new document that 800 x 600 pixels, with a resolution of 72ppi. There are some common screen sizes choices in the New document dialog.

Custom Shapes + Layer Styles with added Text will give you great web buttons.

A lot of Photoshop web page tutorials use paths to create web layout shapes and menus. Paths are something you cannot do in PSE, but you can create a lot of cool designs by using Custom Shapes in an additive or subtractive mode. For example you can make a pill shape by combining a rectangle and two circles.