PH
Posted By
Peter_Hachmeister
May 4, 2005
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I want to take a jpg file and have it converted/transformed into a 4×6 or 5×7 keeping the aspect ratio. I also don’t want to worry about pixel per inch conversions. Is there a way to do this? It seems simple/straightforward, but I can’t find a way to do this (I am new to Elements.)

Also, is there a manual other than the Getting Started guide.

Thanks,

Peter

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

BG
Byron Gale
May 5, 2005
wrote
I want to take a jpg file and have it converted/transformed into a 4×6 or
5×7 keeping the aspect ratio. I also don’t want to worry about pixel per inch conversions.

Peter,

You may not be able to keep the aspect ratio of your image while printing either of those sizes – the possible exception being that your digicam provides a 3:2 mode, which WILL print at 6×4 while keeping the same aspect ratio. The likelihood is that your image is in 4:3 ratio, which will have to be cropped to produce either of the dimensions you specify, without distortion.

When you say that you don’t want to worry about pixel per inch conversions…. well, I don’t know how you will control the quality of your images without paying some degree of attention to that relationship.

Byron
JM
Joseph Meehan
May 5, 2005
wrote:
I want to take a jpg file and have it converted/transformed into a 4×6 or 5×7 keeping the aspect ratio. I also don’t want to worry about pixel per inch conversions. Is there a way to do this? It seems simple/straightforward, but I can’t find a way to do this (I am new to Elements.)

Also, is there a manual other than the Getting Started guide.
Thanks,

Peter

Are you aware that those two sizes don’t have the same aspect ratio?