Posted By
Dave Ello
Apr 10, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi all,

I’m a pro photographer and travel often, and regularly in remote countries of Asia. I need a laptop that is both conveniently small and capable of providing:

– good graphics processing capability for PS7 (soon CS) – edit 6 Mpixel image files,
– good battery life,
– DVD burner (may have to be USB 2 but was hoping for internal – ie. battery powered. Nice to have battery DVD burning but not essential).

The Sony Vaio range sounds interesting but here in Australia, noone can give me even a subjective answer to the question regarding graphics capability. I contacted IBM about their smaller range and they gave an honest answer regards graphics – not very good.

I think I don’t want shared video RAM but if I have 1 Gb RAM will that give reasonable performance?

Friends are trying to convert me to Mac but for now I require a PC. Ideally a 12" will be great but could consider a 14". At this stage not massively concerned about budget.

Any brand/model recommendations will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Dave E

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

XT
xalinai_Two
Apr 10, 2004
On Sat, 10 Apr 2004 18:21:04 +1000, "Dave Ello" wrote:

Hi all,

I’m a pro photographer and travel often, and regularly in remote countries of Asia. I need a laptop that is both conveniently small and capable of providing:

– good graphics processing capability for PS7 (soon CS) – edit 6 Mpixel image files,

For 2D apps like PS any new modern notebook with enough memory will do. 6 MP images are only 18 MB in memory.

– good battery life,
This is more difficult – but those who have the Centrino label should have useful energy saving techniques.