How do I change the background of a logo without losing the letters?

GD
Posted By
Greg_D
Jun 12, 2007
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
If I have a logo such as <http://photobucket.com>

How do I keep the letters but change the background to a certain color? I am using it for a presentation, I know how to use the eye dropper to select the right color, but I am having trouble figuring out how to actually change the color without covering the letters.

Help is appreciated!

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

P
Phosphor
Jun 12, 2007
You’d be better off just recreating the logo (extremely simple), keeping the text unflattened. That way you could do whatever you want with the background, at will and experimentally, with out compromising the quality of the text.
GD
Greg_D
Jun 12, 2007
I am very new to PS and am not familiar with how to recreate the logo. What are the steps to do that? Also, how do I keep the text unflattened?
EH
Ed_Hannigan
Jun 12, 2007
EZ quick way: Alt-dounble-click the Background in the Layers palette to make it a Layer. Go to Channels. Double-click on the RGB channel to get the marching ants selection. Ctrl-Shift-I to inverse.

Back on the Layers click the mask icon at the bottom of the palette. It’s the one that looks like a broken line circle. That gives you a Layer Mask and the type will now be on a transparent background. Ctrl-click the New Layer icon (looks lie a piece of paper) to make a layer below and choose your new color.

Alt-Delete to fill bottom layer with the new color. Now Save however you want.

<http://www.sover.net/~hannigan/goldbondlogo_green.jpg>

The type won’t be editable as in Phos’s method, but I bet it will take a lot less time.
EH
Ed_Hannigan
Jun 12, 2007
Further experimentation shows me that the Green channel would be a better bet to use than the RGB channel to make the selection.
GD
Greg_D
Jun 12, 2007
I give up! LOL