Posted By
Dale_Nichols
May 10, 2007
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi all,
I have a juried show coming up in three days. I always proof print in PS CS2 with a color calibrated monitor combined with ICC profile calibrated wide format 42" HP Printer w/o rip.

When I used the gamut warnings (on two of my final projects ready to print) combined with print proof I am getting way out of gamut of what my printer can produce. Trial prints with all rendering intents, bk pt on and off. Recalibrated my medial profile and tried to desaturate colors.

The HP tech for my printer said to use a desaturation sponge or using the eye dropper to pull the color back into gamut. I have never done this before.

Bottom line, I have tried everything I can think of in terms of color management.

Any suggestions would be greatly suggested,

Cheers and have a great day,
Dale

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

B
Bernie
May 10, 2007
combined with print proof I am getting way out of gamut of what my printer can produce.

But do the prints look good?

That’s all that matters in the end…

And what colours are out of gamut? By a lot or just a little bit?
H
Ho
May 10, 2007
Select>Color Range>Out of Gamut (from the top drop down menu).

This gives you the ability to copy only OG colors to their own layer(s) and deal with them as you see fit. You may want to feather the selections depending on the image.
DN
Dale_Nichols
May 11, 2007
These two prints I am having the problems with have some deep saturated blues and greens,(lots of water). When I print, about 15-20% of the image has the colors replaced with a dull gray which stands out terribly. The rest of the print dials in perfectly, this is one image where I can not crop it.