K
Posted By
Kugar13
Apr 30, 2007
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I designed a postcard to be printed for advertisement purposes. The site I chose to do the printing services only allow 8 MB uploads. The postcard (flattened) is 10 MB. Any advice how to get around this? Excuse me if this is a dumb question with a simple ‘no’ as the answer, but it never hurts to ask. Thx!

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

DR
Donald_Reese
Apr 30, 2007
Why cant you just reduce the image size to 8 megs? for a postcard that should be plenty.
K
Kugar13
Apr 30, 2007
Not sure how to do that. Sorry, I’m kinda new at this. Would that degrade the quality of the pic on the postcard?
DR
Donald_Reese
May 1, 2007
Just go to the image menu to image size and change the size there. i seriously doubt you will see much difference going from 10 to 8 megs. what does the document size say right now for width/height and resolution,under image size?
T
Talker
May 1, 2007
On Mon, 30 Apr 2007 16:57:00 -0700, wrote:

Not sure how to do that. Sorry, I’m kinda new at this. Would that degrade the quality of the pic on the postcard?

If you’re using Photoshop, open the image, then save it as a JPEG image at a setting of 9.

Talker
K
Kugar13
May 1, 2007
Donald,

My brother suggested to save the file for Web and turn it into a JPEG. I did so and sent the file off for print before I realized you replied. I’m at work, so I don’t currently have access to my project. The postcard is 5.47" x 4.21", 300 DPI. The file I sent/uploaded for the print was for a sample. If the method I used isn’t the best option please let me know. I want the best quality possible. I’m still have a lot to learn….. thank you for your help!
P
Phosphor
May 1, 2007
"My brother suggested to save the file for Web and turn it into a JPEG"

Ignore his advice.