LH
Posted By
Luke_hall
Apr 12, 2007
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Whether "fixed" or "broke" this thread gave me the exact information I’ve been looking for by turning color management off. I’m a rookie with Photoshop CS and after re-installing PS months ago after upgrading to a new larger hard drive I have been looking for a solution to eliminate a yellowish cast to every photo that is seen only when viewed in PS. I didn’t want to spend the money nor felt the need to buy a calibration tool for my purposes.

The colors in PS now match the colors in all my other programs. Thanks Seb for posting your findings here. Turning the color management works and I’m a happy camper again.

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

JZ
Joe_Zydeco
Apr 12, 2007
Luke, you could also turn off your windshield wipers while driving in a heavy rainstorm so you don’t see all those annoying vehicles coming toward you, but that won’t make you safe or correct.

It’s Ok with me if you and Seb don’t want to bother with color management. But to let your remarks pass unchallenged would come across as passive approval of turning off CM.

Newcomers to Photoshop who want to learn to do things the right way deserve better than the position you two guys so naively proffer.
C
chrisjbirchall
Apr 12, 2007
Luke. Seb’s "findings" are wrong. Read the advice he has been given.

When you calibrate your monitor, what you are doing is telling Photoshop how to communicate with your monitor. If you do not do this, as your monitor drifts ( as all monitors do) you will end up producing images which might look fine on your monitor, but dreadful when displayed on someone elses.

Colour management enables you to produce images to a given standard.

Take this over-simplified scenario: